Possession

You came
when I wasn’t able
to cup the song before it ended,
while my heart was dying
to the memories it once had known.
I retreated
into the dark womb of dependence
upon your promises yet to be made.

But I don’t need your heart
that is torn between two eternities.
I don’t need your love
that is still grieving over a song
so long forgotten.
I need your heart
and its poetry of devotion,
desire and possession.
I need you and your liberty
from the pain of the past
and the singing that didn’t last.

Beyond the limits of my fleeting years
I need you to dream
some new dreams with me
and measure how far
heaven really could go.
And when I have all of your heart
to fly away with mine,
how much more I will need you-
you will never know.

Leave a Reply

